Parishes and Missions

This parish portal identifies Catholic parishes and missions of Washington and Ozaukee Counties, Wisconsin, USA. Included, in parish name order, is a historical overview of the parish and mission followed by the ministering priests and their time of tenure. The information was gleaned from the book THE CATHOLIC CHURCH IN WISCONSIN, from church and historical publications, and from Church of the Latter Day Saints microfilmed parish sacramental registrations up to the year 1920.

Please check here for an Overview-Findings-Summary of this study.

With the number of parish merges and closures, it is difficult to determine where parish sacramental registrations can be found. In the Wisconsin Pastoral Handbook 2005 Edition, the availability of these records was detailed. This information can be found here.

Research Tips:

In the early years of the diocese, 1843-1880, when a priest was responsible for a parish and one or more missions, it is not unheard of to find a registration not in the books of the mission church but recorded in the priest's home parish.

In the years 1844-1846, check the Cathedral of St. Peter the Apostle in Milwaukee.

In 1846-1847, check St. Boniface (now Ozaukee and Washington Counties)

Father Caspar Rehrl registrations can possibly be found in any of his missions as he was not very religious in recording these registrations. There is also a LDS film under the name Casper Rehrl and not assigned to any parish or mission.

Parish Index 


St. Ambrose; Port Washington
St. Anthony; Allenton
St. Anthony of Padra; Allenton
St. Augustine; St. Augustine
St. Augustine; Trenton

St. Bartholomew; Neosho
St. Boniface; Germantown
St. Bridget; Jackson
St. Bridget; Wayne

Church of the Maternity of the Blessed Virgin Mary; Richfield
Church of The Holy Angels; West Bend
St. Columbia; Lake Five

Divine Word; Cedarburg

St. Finbar; Newburg
St. Francis Borgia; Cedarburg
St. Francis Xavier; Grafton

Holy Angels; West Bend
Holy Cross; Holy Cross
Holy Trinity; Kewaskum
Holy Trinity; Newburg
St. Hubert; Hubertus

Immaculate Conception; Jackson
Immaculate Conception; Saukville
Immaculate Conception; West Bend

St. James; Mequon
St. John; Monches
St. John The Baptist; Waubeka
St. John; Monches
St. John of God; Farmington
St. Joseph; Grafton

St. Kilian; Hartford
St. Kilian; St. Kilian

St. Lawrence; St. Lawrence

St. Martin; Ashford
Santa Maria ad Angelos; Belgium
St. Mary; Jackson
St. Mary; Lomira
St. Mary Immaculate Conception; West Bend
St. Mary of the Assumption; Richfield
St. Mary of the Nativity; Lomira
St. Mary Lake Church; Belgium
St. Mary; Richfield
Mater Dolorosa; Little Kohler
St. Mathias; Nabob
St. Matthew; Neosho
St. Michael; Beaver Dam
St. Michael; St. Michael
Mother of Sorrows; Little Kohler

St. Patrick; Thompson
St. Peter; Slinger
SS Peter & Paul; Nenno
St. Peter The Apostle; Slinger
St. Peter The Apostle; Trenton/Farmington

St. Rose Of Lima; Fredonia

Sacred Heart; Allenton
St. Stephen; Port Washington

St.Theresa; Theresa